End of 2015 Already!

Over the past few years, I figured out that in the US, if you spend on your business, you’ll recoup more money than you’ll ever make by simply saving that money in a bank account.  So, here we are, it’s the end of the year, what to do?

Well, first up was a new laser cutter:

G. Weike LG 900N

Then came another large format powder printer

3D Systems Pro Jet 660Pro

A replacement for my original Up! automated glue gun

Afinia H800

And finally, I took a flyer on the GlowForge laser cutter

GlowForge (link to save $100: http://glowforge.com/referred/?kid=Y1kbpm)

Now, what business does any sane person have putting all this stuff into their garage?  Well, first of all, the Pro Jet isn’t actually in my garage, it’s actually being put into production in California.  That does leave me with the Weike and Afinia (ignore the GlowForge).  The Weike is an interesting tool in that it’s big enough to cut large enough pieces to incorporate into real furniture.  The way I see it is, I can cut 1/8″ or 1/16″ slices and create my own “plywood”.  That can result in a lot of possibilities.  And of course there’s always the paper/cardboard cutting for kids crafts, ‘living hinge’ jewelry boxes, and the like.  The Afinia, whenever it shows up, can serve for in house ‘print/cut’, rather than being the heavy duty garage bound tool.  It will go in my office.

The Afinia is just an evolution of a fairly good ‘just print’ printer.  I purchased one of the earliest Up! printers a few years back, after first spending quite a few frustrating months with the original MakerBot Cupcake.  I’ve loved my Up! ever since, but it’s getting long in the tooth, so it’s time for an upgrade.  The H800 has a larger print area, and probably more importantly it has an enclosed volume with a HEPA filter.  This makes it a candidate for living inside the house if I make space for it.  The larger print volume will make it feasible to print fun parts for construction, and not just little trinkets.  I’m looking forward to having an enclosed build volume, it will likely make for better temperature control, and thus less warping of ABS.

I recently had one of my ancient designs printed on the powder printer, just to see what it would look like.  I have plans to have it made using injection molding process, meanwhile, using the Afinia will help me make some small runs of the same, in true rapid prototyping fashion.

Speaking of designs, I recently installed the 2015 version of OpenScad.  It renders my old designs nicely enough, and it has some new features which will make some work I had done previously even better.  So, what better time to dust off some of those old designs and update them with the modern OpenScad.  We’ll see how hard it is to get back into the mindset of that programming environment.

And how can the year end purchases ignore electronics!

Raspberry Pi Zero (from Adafruit)

Raspberry Pi Microsoft iOT package

At $5 (for basic board), how could any self respecting tinkerer pass this up.  Yes, if you really add things up, it’s much more than this, but I already have enough power supplies, keyboards and wifi dongles in stock that these are not additional costs, and the incremental cost to me is truly $5.  At the very least, I can see using these as a learning tool to teach Linux.  A Raspberry Pi 0, with LuaJIT installed, and tons of “Lua Tools For Linux”, and you’re all set.

So, finishing the year with a wallet busting blowout, taking back some tax dollars in the process, and generally setting up to have some great fun in the new year.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

