Iterating over oddities – mstrziter

In some parts of the Windows API, you will run across the case where a ‘multi-string’ is the return value. A ‘multi-string’ might look like this:

"this\0is\0a\0multi-string\0\0"

Basically, a byte array with embedded null terminated strings. You find this in cases like when you’re enumerating devices, and the locationpaths (where the device is mounted) is returned. You find these in the system registry where they are the REG_MULTI_SZ type. So, if you’re wanting to deal with the system registry, you might run across this particular type. I’m not sure I’d ever have a need to create this particular type in modern day programming. I might choose a different delimeter than the ” byte, but it is fairly effective for ascii strings.

At any rate, I want an iterator over this thing so that I can easily navigate around it without much fuss. Thus was born mstrziter.

local function mstrziter(params)
	params = params or {}

	params.separator = params.separator or 0
	params.datalength = params.datalength or #params.data
	params.basetype = params.basetype or ffi.typeof("char")
	params.basetypeptr = ffi.typeof("const $ *", params.basetype)
	params.maxlen = params.maxlen or params.datalength-1;

	local function closure(param, idx)
		if not params.data then
			return nil;
		end

		local len = 0;
		
		while ffi.cast(param.basetypeptr, param.data)[idx + len] ~= param.separator and (len < param.maxlen) do
			len = len +1;
		end

		if len == 0 then
			return nil;
		end

		return (idx + len+1), ffi.string(ffi.cast(param.basetypeptr, param.data)+idx, len*ffi.sizeof(param.basetype));
	end

	return closure, params, 0;
end

With this little construct, I can do the following:

require("fun")()
local src = "big\0boy\0baby\0bear\0bounces\0basketballs\0behind\0the\0barn\0\0"

print("---- each(print, mstrziter(src)")
each(print, mstrziter{data = src})

That is, passing a multi-string to mstrziter and it will feed out the strings one by one. Well, I think that’s pretty nifty, and cracks multi-strings wide open. When I first created the thing, I only wanted to deal with null delimeted strings, but there’s no reason this same routine can’t do more.

I can just as easily do the following:

local src2 = "big\rboy\rbaby\rbear\rbounces\rbasketballs\rbehind\rthe\rbarn\r\r"
print("---- take(3, mstrziter(src2) ----")
each(print, take(3, mstrziter{data = src2, separator = string.byte('\r')}))

In this case I’m using ‘\r’ as the delimeter. Of course Lua already has the gmatch() function on strings, so why would I bother with this at all? Well, because I’m not always handed a string to begin with. Most of the times I’m handed a pointer to some buffer. I don’t want to waste time turning that into a Lua string, simply to chop it up into more strings.

Another interesting thing you can do is pass in the base type of the array:

each(print, mstrziter{data = src, basetype=ffi.typeof(“const wchar_t *”)})

In this way, it can deal with standard ‘char *’, or ‘wchar_t *’. But why stop there? You can pass in an array of any type, as long as there is an ‘__eq’ implemented for that type. So, fixed sized records in a database? If you do that, then your queries using the functional programming stuff become fairly easy and interesting.

Well, there you have it. A fairly simple iterator. It serves the purpose I set out for it, and gave me a whole lot more in return. The one wish I have for it is one for Lua in general. When I have a buffer which already contains the content, I would like to create ‘tokens’ instead of full on strings. Meaning, I’d like to have a token which consists of the base pointer, offset, length in the original buffer. But, that becomes a hairy mess, not immutable, not properly garbage collected… So, for now, I’m happy with just creating new copies of the strings.

Leave a Reply

