My Head In The Cloud – putting my code where my keyboard is

I have written a lot about the greatness of LuaJIT, coding for the internet, async programming, and the wonders of Windows. Now, I have finally reached a point where it’s time to put the code to the test.

I am running a service in Azure: http://nanotechstyles.cloudapp.net

This site is totally fueled by the work I have done with TINN. It is a static web page server with a couple of twists.

First of all, you can access the site through a pretty name:
http://www.nanotechstyles.com

If you just hit the site directly, you will get the static front page which has nothing more than an “about” link on it.

If you want to load up a threed model viewing thing, hit this:
http://www.nanotechstyles.com/threed.html

If you want to see what your browser is actually sending to the server, then hit this:
http://www.nanotechstyles.com/echo

I find the echo thing to be interesting, and I try hitting the site using different browsers to see what they produce.  This kind of feedback makes it relatively easy to do rapid turnarounds on the webpage content, challenging my assumptions and filling in the blanks.

The code for this web server is not very complex.  It’s the same standard ‘main’ that I’ve used in the past:

local resourceMap = require("ResourceMap");
local ResourceMapper = require("ResourceMapper");
local HttpServer = require("HttpServer")

local port = arg[1] or 8080

local Mapper = ResourceMapper(resourceMap);

local obj = {}

local OnRequest = function(param, request, response)
	local handler, err = Mapper:getHandler(request)


	-- recycle the socket, unless the handler explictly says
	-- it will do it, by returning 'true'
	if handler then
		if not handler(request, response) then
			param.Server:HandleRequestFinished(request);
		end
	else
		print("NO HANDLER: ", request.Url.path);
		-- send back content not found
		response:writeHead(404);
		response:writeEnd();

		-- recylce the request in case the socket
		-- is still open
		param.Server:HandleRequestFinished(request);
	end

end

obj.Server = HttpServer(port, OnRequest, obj);
obj.Server:run()

In this case, I’m dealing with the OnRequest() directly, rather than using the WebApp object.  I’m doing this because I want to do some more interactions at this level that the standard WebApp may not support.

Of course the ‘handlers’ are where all the fun is. I guess it makes sense to host the content of the site up on the site for all to see and poke fun at.

My little experiment here is to give my code real world exposure, with the intention of hardening it, and gaining practical experience on what a typical web server is likely to see out in the wild.

So, if you read this blog, go hit those links. Soon enough, perhaps I will be able to serve up my own blog using my own software. That’s got a certain circular reference to it.

2 Comments on “My Head In The Cloud – putting my code where my keyboard is”

  1. Pasi Mankinen says:

    Hello.

    http://nanotechstyles.cloudapp.net has been down for at least 2 days. Address resolves to 65.52.121.63.


Leave a Reply

