Straight Metal Jacket

As I was wandering the aisles of Home Depot, looking for some inspiration, I came across that section that has metal rods, and randoms bits of other metals.  The flat and angle aluminum caught my eye because I was thinking about how to hang things in the home and in the shop.  One of the things I want to do is create a mounting system that allows me to slide a monitor along a wall in the shop.

I purchased some straight, some round, some two sided, and some 3 sided pieces, to play with.  Then I got to work designing some pieces that would act to attach the metal to a surface.  First I worked with the angle piece (1/8″ X 3/4″) and created the following things:

http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:8302 – End Cap

http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:8301 – Sleeve

These two alone aren’t very useful, and don’t even provide a mounting point, but they’re a start.

Next, I went after the flat aluminum (1/8″ thick, 3/4″ wide).  This time I created mountable pieces, both an end cap, as well as a sleeve:

http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:8356

Straight Metal Jackets

It is an interesting study for me.  I don’t think I found such pieces at Home Depot, and I would fully expect to find them there.  The design is fun and interesting for me for a few reasons.  First, it is so simple.  Providing the slight gap (4mm) between the metal piece and the wall provides some good options for mounting.  I can hang something over the top edge, like my over-the-door mounting system: http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:6790  Or, I can design a piece that actually slides over the bar as a  more secure part.

I can use it in the shop to hang those plastic parts bins, which come with a very small rail, which isn’t nearly long enough.

I hate to say ‘the possibilities are endless’, but they really are.  Just a bit of plastic, and some standard hardware stuff, and suddenly you’re creating modular systems.

Leave a Reply

